top of page

[Insane!Ushia AU] Petit Morceau

Prologue:

 

I felt my entire body freeze in one single moment. It chilled my toes and in turn made the body of my vessel shudder. It seemed my legs had lost the ability to move. Yet, with a good deal of struggle, I managed to pull myself to my hands in knees. My face coloured as I remained in that undignified position. A vague unease had begun to settle over myself. My insides had begun to curl with nausea, and I quickly turned my head to retch. Small spurts of stomach acid, and a faint taste of wine were all that came up. My lips burned. The heaving continued for a few moments afterwards.

It finally subsided, only to leave the body quaking from the effects. I lifted a shaking hand to wipe off the sweat beading at my brows, and sliding down my nose. Never had I been so hungover as to experience that. My work had never allowed it. Not to say that I didn't enjoy imbibing every once in a while, but this... no. I recalled Marnie teasing me on that very principal of his. That I could be so debauched in some of my other activities, but I would not risk getting drunk while 'constructing' for my customers.

"A doctor's work is never done, is that it?" Marnie had laughed at her jest. Ironically, I had been drunk then as well, and found that her comment had irritated me in a way I couldn't name. That irritation had grown into fury and I actually had slapped her for it.

Idly, I realized my hands still could feel the blow they had connected, and I would never forget the sound her head had made against the floor as she fell. Guilt had not come until later, and even then it was slight and easily shrugged off.

She had known what she was getting into when ever she called on me, after all. Such was our reality of our time together. After she recovered, Marnie had claimed that it was that behavior that was the reason for our trysts. That it was the very reason I fascinated her. Then, it had been my turn to be the one that laughed.

But the way she said it...

I shoved my thoughts away, and slowly rose to my feet. Relief filled me, as I seemed steady enough. "Good." I said aloud, my voice sounding cracked and frail. Clearing my throat swiftly, I tried again."Good." Better.

Trembling a bit, I made my way to the parchment. I lifted it carefully, and soon realized it was far too dim to read the words. I looked to the table, that was filled with unlit candles, but not a lighter in sight. Damn. I gingerly walked over to the the door and peered outside. The hallway beyond was filled with torches. Without hesitating I made my way over to the nearest. Holding up the parchment, I began to read.

Travesty at the conservatory...

"Vincent?" I questioned, my memory flickered as I read the article. But, I already knew every word. Vincent's Eclair's last performance had been hashed over by Avernus reporters for weeks after the fiasco. The night itself was unforgettable..


bottom of page