top of page

Not So Empty House (Part 6)

I'm uncomfortable, I struggle - trying to avoid his penetrating stare. My faded blue eyes widen, my heart jumps, I start to get scared. He grips my shoulder tighter and tigher, like if he wants me to believe him. I notice his narrowed eyes and clenched teeth, thought all I see in them is a tamed beast that calls for help... I pause and blink twice. But in that exact moment, I also realize that I was right all along! His aura is so wide and lively, it stirs, expands and compresses back all over and over, caressing Allen's hair with its big spirit-like hands. It's not fearful anymore! I start chuckling and his grips loosens, so does his shield falls off. He tried to pretend so hard, yet, he did the right opposite. Instead of closing his own self, he bloomed like a flower's blossom. His expression changes into a lovely puzzled man that had no bad intentions. I chuckle louder and louder! My eyes close, he brings joy into my heart that my cheeks take a form of two reddish cherries by the deep blush.

"Ahah! Hahah! Al!"

I open my eyes again to see his adorable baffled face.

"You're a Shapeshifter!"

I blurt out oh-so-gleefully. Snatching his hands off my shoulders and locking them with mine, squeezing them, holding them so tight yet I'm still careful! His eyes widen in terror. He's absolutely dismayed with what I've just said. "no" Allen pulls away and gets out of my grip forcefully shivering like mad. His hair puff up slightly as they stand up with the goosebumps. Taking few steps back, hiding his hands with one another, raising his head and trembling voice he spoke, no - he cried out:

"N-NO! NO NO NO! You're not supposed to know! You're a Puppet! I'm a Puppet I mean! F-Fuck! FUCK!"

Thereupon a head peeks from behind the door leading inside the living room. Andy who looks quite frightened by Allen's loud and sudden explosion of emotions. I absolutely ignore the man's collapsing self and look behind me. Waving and smiling at Andy like nothing happened, like if there wasn't a guy right in front of me - violently gesturing towards my well being. Andy blinks twice and turns white, he's very scared.

"Oh no!"

I twitch and hurry over to him, Allen stops and watches my acting, not believing what he's witnessing. Meanwhile, I comfort the Observer, wrapping my arms around him and patting his head. He looks at me curiously, not so afraid anymore, but there's a still huge deluge of anxiety overflowing him. He pulls away and dusts off my shirt.

"W.. What happened between you two?"

Says Andy and tilts his head. I chuckle and stroke his obscure dark hair.

"It's nothing, Allen's just big dirty LIAR! BLEEEH"

I pout and look at Allen, sticking my tongue out and making a silly face. Andy gulps and looks away, quite uncomfortable, he must know that I'm a big liar as well, looking at Allen who's been slowly steaming off.

"LIAR?!"

He yells out.

"Yup! A liar! You're no Puppet, you're a Shapeshifter!"

I laugh out loud.. Andy however, his face turns even paler, he stands up and topples over me - leaning over the door with his head grabbed and stressed out expression. Drop of his sweat falls on the floor and he poofs into his older form. I jump a little, something's odd, wrong:

"What's the matter?"

I ask, keeping my now-awkward smile. Allen widens his eyes, the atmosphere's tense and tonic. Andy stares at Allen with horrified expression. I'm switching between looking at the boys, confused and afarid of what will happen next.

"Guy- Guys? I have no clue what is going on-"

Andy interrupts me in the middle.

"If Allen's a Shapeshifter- we need to report it to the local patrol."

My heart skips a beat and my ears are suddenly filled with loud buzzing noise.

"What are you saying.....?"

I say quietly, shocked. Andy continues, staring at Allen with a hostile glance.

"You have nothing to do here. It's just a matter of time when you decide to kill us all! Liar, you planned it all along, didn't you?-"

I listen to the words breaking image of Andy within my brain. Allen frowns and puts his hands in his pockets, narrowing his eyes and walking backwards. Andy instinctively pushes forward. I grab his leg.

"What are you saying? He's our friend, Andy. You really listen to those fuckminds called the Government?"

I raise my head with vengeful emotion. The boy smirks and steps on my fingers with full force. I scream out as my wrist cracks under his weight. Allen tenses up even more, growling and hissing. Loud footsteps bring next witness, being Camille.

"What's with those screams yo-"

She stops and stares. Andy keeps my hand trapped and so am I still clenching his calf. Camille freezes, looking at all of us in disbelieve and dread, cold sweat rolls down her red cheeks. Allen takes the chance to tackle Andy and free my hand. I roll away, holding my broken wrist, yelling at the two to stop fighting. Camille grabs my healthy hand and pulls me up, speaking with confidence.

"Cherryl.. we gotta contact the local patrol now, that man's dangerous-"

As soon as I hear the same words coming out of her mouth, I swiftly free myself from her grip and step back.

"What's up with you two?! Something's wrong?! What's wrong with your brains- Allen's our dear friend- he never harmed anyone- no one fucking cares if he's a Shapeshifter?!-"

I'm interrupted again.

"Make connections you moron! The only Shapeshifter in our region was living with us this entire time. Everytime that guy vanished, livestock and people vanished as well! This makes perfect sence.. don't you know? These monsters are the main reason I joined the army! And what did I think when I said 'Take care!' everytime he left..-"

I look over at the hassle, no fight.. gallons of blood spray over the walls. He'd never do such thing. Would he? ...why am I doubting him?! My knees fail in holding me, I sit down, hysterically pulling my hair out. HE'S A GOOD PERSON.

"No, no, no, no... you're wrong, you're wrong!"

Camille roughly pulls me up again, glaring at me. An adversary. They don't looks so friendly anymore. I tear up and sniff into her face.

"Allen's a murderer, Cherryl.. He needs to be exterminated."

I can feel my eyeballs going dry from me completely forgetting how to blink.

"No, you're wrong.. he's not at fault.. he's not at fault"

I glance over my shoulder. Andy has already apprehended Allen, trapping him to the ground. His eyes, bloody red, his scleras, darker than black. His face, so pale and lifeless, his teeth so sharp and dangerous.. the horns.. those black horns. How.. what happened to him.. he's no human.. he's no Shapeshifter.. he's... -

"A KRAMPUS!"

I open my eyes. Wide and round, grayish blue and piercing light. The first thing I see is Camille leaning above me. She's suddenly startled, not expecting me to wake up.. so 'soon'. Too 'soon'. Wait, what? What is going on- Have I dreamt all of that? Camille smirks and blinks slowly, sighing in my face, then leaning back onto her place.

"SHE'S AWAAAKE, GUYYSSS- NO MORE LUNATIC NIGHTMAREEES"

I raise my eyebrows and moves strands of my hair out of my face, being absolutely clueless of what is going on and paranoid about what's dream and what's reality. I sit up. Reaching for my glasses and putting them on. Huh I'm in living room again, lying on the couch, everything looks fine, in its place. My eyes travel upon Camille that has been staring at me this entire time.

"H-Huh?"

I let out. She snaps her fingers. I inconceivably look around, still can't make any connections..

"What is going o-"

Suddenly, I hear multiple things being opened. Behind the couche, on its left side, a closet opens. Andy in his young form peaks out. I hear clanging of pans and pots in the kitchen. Bream peeks her head from behind the bar. Lastly, Allen hiding underneath the kitchen table... What happened?

To be continued


bottom of page