top of page

Not So Empty House (Part 2)

We waited and waited. Time passing by as the sky turned darker and darker. Dusky color resembling nice pastel crimson, dawn red clouds fitting the blueish sky turning pink around the sun setting behind the horizon. The house seemed suddenly so empty, Andy and I were but inside, wondering, I came up with a conclusion that it's not always me creating the nice joyful aura. Rather, it must be the presence of all my friends, whenever.. whenever someone's absent, I feel like something inside of me is missing. And right of course, it's just so strange - this world. Sometimes, it almost has this dreamy vibe, like if I'm being unconscious all the time. But I guess, everything is possible here..

"Am I right?"

I said outloud as I was finishing another portrait of Allen. Andy who was sitting in front of me kept on drawing my portrait and ignored my sudden blurt of nonsence, instead, he just yawned and examined his work from afar, straightening and tilting his head to the sides, looking at every single error he has made. I didn't see any, I just thought it looked perfect.

"Why are you so critical to your own art? It looks glorious, or maybe it's my face.. hehe"

He raised his head with a frown, squinting and judging. I blinked twice with my widened eyes and mouth shut, I didn't want to make him angry, so I apologized and continued drawing few last details, being the shadows. I was overthinking, not able to focus nor concentrate, ending up breaking the pencil's pointy apex.

"A-ah! UM!"

I felt so embarrassed, knowing that Andy was watching me this entire time and was a witness to my terrible unluck.

"Don't think of stupid stuff while drawing, dummy. Do you have a spitzer?"

...I stopped, kind of puzzled.

"Do you mean.. sharpener?"

His eyes narrowed, he dropped the pencil, staring at me.

"Y-yea, sharpener, why did you correct me?"

I laughed.

"You said spitzer instead of sharpener! Stop drilling that german, you douche!"

I noticed he started blushing a bit, realizing just now.

"E-ehhhH??"

He was completely frozen in his own awkward moment, trying to stay cool and all, but rather than that, he started hypnotizing the table. I sighed and took the picture he has created, comparing it with mine.

" .... "

His art was so gorgeous, yet, mine was only a childish scribbling.

"How do you do this, it's a freakish miracle..."

He snatched it quickly.

"Hey! Do not compare! Comparing is bad! Artists should not compare! Why don't you listen to me!" B-but, how do I improve? I thought to myself, looking quite depressed by the fact the I draw like a little brat."

"Gaaaah, what is this? Why are you so sad with me? Troubled and anxious, and cheerful with the others. If you're nervous then ju-"

I interrupted him almost immediately.

"N-no! nonononono! It's fine! I'm just a big moron, that's all!"

Closing his eyes and folding his arms, sighing with care.

"Don't be too harsh on yourself. I can't stand that."

I raise my eyebrows.

"You do the exact same thing, Andy..."

Silence, he looks really done by now.

"Sorry, sorry, alright then, I'll shut up."

He keeps staring with his done expression. I pout, looking away, sharpening the pencil.

"...Hey."

He asks so suddenly. It makes me so nervous, no idea why, but I answer with a curious nod. He's looking down, exchanging his masks into a troubled looking one.

"Did you dream when asleep?"

He asked. I shrug.

"I don't remember, it's obvious I must've, but I don't remember its plot. Why are you asking?"

"Nothing, I was just curious what could you dream about for seven months."

He was certainly lying, it was so so so obvious, so visible on him. But I decided to not say anything, I felt so ashamed around him, yet, I am not sure if I would be of help if something has happened to him.

"Anyways!"

He's going to change the subject.

"Aren't you hungry? It's almost..8pm.. you haven't eaten anything since the lunchtime."

Chuckling, I stand up, putting the pencils in order and cleaning the mess.

"I'll go buy something, just hang on a sec."

I sweep the table with a rag and throw it in the sink.

"Noor's, the shop should be still opened, right?"

Andy nods, sealing his pencil case.

"Do you have any credits or money?"

He asks.

"Geh, I don't."

He smiles and opens his pockets, searching for the cash.

"Fortunately, I do!"

He takes out 300 credits, that makes it around 12 dollars. I take it gladly, putting it inside my wallet.

"I uh.. don't use it all, please.."

Says Andy, sweating with a nervous grin.

"Don't worry, I'm not Camille~"

Giggling and patting the wallet being full of cash, I leave within a one minute. I leave the not so empty house. Walking through the streets, turning and going straight, up and down, rocking my head in the rhythm of my walk. Observing the beutiful nature, staring at all those human conveniences, passing all the graceful gardens, greeting people I know since my birth. I'm truly a cheerful person after all. I'm humming to myself throughout my way and few lasting sunbeams keep my body warm. It's such nice weather today.. I think to myself. Flocks of birds gather on the roofs and prepare for another day filled with constant squawking, cawing and tweeting. I finally notice the store's shinning lights in the distance.

"24 hours a day, 7 days a week... What a terrible job. But I guess, it's a good thing too!"

I arrive in the front of the store and enter it. I can imagine what my roommates want without needing a list.

"Bream likes kefirs, I suppose.. I could buy a two."

I reach for two strawberry kefirs on the top of an aisle and make my way a bit further. Seeing that lots of dairy products have been reduced with their prices, so while looking at a cheap milk I also buy Andy a mozzarella since he loves it so much..

"Next uh, Allen.. oh right, pudding addict."

I move to another aisle and grab 4 different kinds of powdered puggings. The last one of Camille and her obsession over fishsticks.

"What a bother she is.."

I walk through the entire store just to find the 'all kinds of meat' area.

"Chicken, beef, pork, fish- FISH!"

Searching along the shelves I finally notice the fishsticks box looking straight at me. I name myself dummy and grab the last packing. Though, as I reach for a it, I'm not the only one wanting that one single perfect-looking box of smelly fish meat. A hand, much quicker snatches it right in front of mine.

"H-Heeey.."

I turn around, to be a witness of a young, quite tall man, hair with color of an ink and void filling their lifeless eyes. With a formal black suit and freshly brushed shoes. He startled me greatly, so tall and the wicked aura. He looks down at me, holding the box above my head.

"Oh?~ Is this yours?"

Strangely enough, his voice doesn't match his face at all. It sounds raspy and mischievous, like if he was teasing me, playing with me, someone much better and high-ranked.. But I'm not able to say a word, I just stare with my absolutely terrified expression.

"Well then, I guess it's not yours yet. Goodbye, I suppose."

The man grins and puts the box inside his basket. I stand completely still, I suddenly forgot how to breathe. I move my eyes lower, looking straigh into his basket. Disturbing, all he has bought was only meat. Together with my fishsticks. So rude, so rude! I thought to myself and grabbed one smoked herring instead, beforing paying at the counter. The man vanished, I was surprised he has paid so quickly to be not found inside the store. Either way, I paid for the purchase and left.

"158 credits left... That isn't too bad!"

My worries are being pushed away by my neverending source of positivity. I put all the food inside my bag and take off. I go the same path, the only difference is, that my surroundings are far beyond being visible. It's completely dark and the only thing helping me are the street lights. At first, walking by the houses made me feel safe and knowing that people can help me anytime was also fine, but all this thinking perished into a moment. I felt a presence of someone, something, behind me.

To be continued...


bottom of page